Book Review: Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse | This Just Might Be My Favorite 2020 Book

Rating: 5/5 stars

Holy moly, I did not know what to expect from Black Sun but I sure did not expect that.

They say a storm is coming. And soon. That the Odo Sedoh will return.

Set against the backdrop of a mystical world, Black Sun follows Xiala, a sailor from a distant land who is tasked to deliver a mysterious man to the city of Tova by the day of the winter solstice. Meanwhile, in the city itself, rumors spread that a storm is coming.

Black Sun is honestly so incredible. From the rich world that’s seeped in indigenous folklore, to the amazingly diverse and gender inclusive characters – and let’s not forget, fantastic writing – I was immediately hooked into the story and couldn’t put the book down.

Roanhorse’s storytelling is seriously so addicting. Her descriptive writing of the world of the Meridian and the dark magic that is woven within its people really sucks you in on the first page and leaves you wanting more by the last.

There’s like everything you need in a fantasy book. You got some political upheaval, hints of magic, murder (ofc), and little bit of angsty romance all mixed together in an epic novel about sacrifice and loss.

Usually, when someone describes a man as harmless, he ends up being a villain.

There are multiple povs and let me tell you, each of them are incredible. Usually reading povs from different characters throws me off and I’m always wanting the narrative to shift back to my favorite one. However, I found myself enjoying each arc. Through these chapters, you learn more about what drives each character and the tragic backstories that all lead them to the climactic solstice.

If you’re looking for a new dark fantasy novel, I highkey recommend doing yourself a favor and picking up Black Sun when you have the chance. I can definitely say that as much as I’m highly anticipating the second book, I’m completely terrified of what’s going to happen next.

Leave a comment